Poetry sucks… but you can share feeelings

23 Jul

Off? I don’t think so.

 

Awwww, feelings.

Poetry, according to one young mind is good for expressing your feelings.

Is this true?

According to Wikipedia, poetry is: Poetry (from the Greek poiesisποίησις — with a broad meaning of a “making”, seen also in such terms as “hemopoiesis“; more narrowly, the making of poetry) is a form of literary art which uses the aesthetic qualities of language to evoke meanings in addition to, or in place of, the prosaic ostensible meaning. Um, what?

Ok, so it’s about art, and it’s also about a process. Above, it says it’s a meaning of a “making”and this suggests to me that poetry is as much about crafting the product as it is the finished piece. For me personally, poetry is a valuable way of sifting and refining my own thoughts. On my last vacation I chose to write at least one poem a day instead of my normal journalling narrative as a change and a challenge. It became a richer experience because of the process of reflecting. And it was a bit easier to ask my friends to listen to my poems than to read a nerdy journal entry. Ok, so reading poetry might be nerdy too but, still.

I know a lot of my students choose to write poetry as a means of journalling and from time to time in my own life I poetify (I made that up) my own journey too. Sometimes it’s a way of coming to terms with something, with dealing.

When I worked in administration in both America and Great Britain, I always started a new job with rearranging my desk. You might find that when a new boss takes over, they restructure the staffing, the office layout or some processes or procedures. This is a way of reordering, mapping out our world so that we mark it and understand it.

Maybe we might even make some art out of it.

So yay for claiming our thoughts and yay for feelings. Yay for poetry.

One more mark for poetry rules.

The score

Poetry sucks: 1

Poetry rules: 3

Leave a Reply

